ICC Caucus

The Caucus (ICCC) is the 501(c)(4) of the ICC (Intercultural Cancer Council)—-Mostly as a member of OVAC (One Voice Against Cancer) we lobby for increases on a yearly basis for NIH, NCI, and CDC. Our goal is to ensure that these entities are provided funding that further our efforts to eliminate the unequal burden of cancer among racial and ethnic minorities and medically underserved populations in the United States and its associated territories.  

-Jennie Cook
Immediate Past President
Intercultural Cancer Council Caucus

ICC Caucus Members

Lee Buenconsejo-Lum, MD, FAAFP
President, ICCC and Treasurer, ICC

Designated Institutional Official and GME Director and Professor,
Dept of Family Medicine and Community Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine,
Univ of Hawaii,
Honolulu, Hawaii

John Arradondo, MD, MPH, FAAFP
Member at Large
Senior Consultant, Our Health
Old Hickory, TN

Dileep Bal, MD
Immediate Past Chair, ICC
Kapaa, Hawaii

Pamela Bennett
Member at Large
Sr Executive Director, Healthcare Alliance Development, Purdue Pharma L P
Queen Creek, AZ

Jennie R. Cook
President-Emeritus, ICCC
Past Chairman, National Board of Directors, American Cancer Society
Larkspur, CA

Pamela Jackson, MS
Member at Large
Houston, TX

Lovell A. Jones, PhD
Co-Founder and Past Co-Chair, ICC
Houston, TX

Patricia Matthews-Juarez, PhD
Chair, ICC
VP, Faculty Affairs and Development
Meharry Medical College,
Nashville, TN

Phyllis Nassi, MSW
Member at Large
Patient Advocate, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology;
Member, Health Disparities & Pharmacogenomics Population Pharmacology Committee; Member, Cancer Information & Support Network Advocate Advisory Board;
Co-Chair-Southwest Region, Intercultural Cancer Council;
Member, Susan G. Komen for the Cure Multicultural Advisory Committee, Advocates in Science;
Member, Association American Cancer Research Huntsman Cancer Institute,
University of Utah,
Salt Lake City, UT

Neal A. Palafox, MD, MPH
Member at Large Professor and Pacific Is Regional Leader,
Dept of Family Medicine and Community Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine,
Univ of Hawaii,
Honolulu, Hawaii

Jody Pelusi, PhD
Member at Large
Oncology Nurse Practitioner/Sub Investigator
Honor Health Research Institute – Phase 1 Clinical Trials,
Scottsdale, AZ

Barbara Sapp-Davis, MSN,RN
Member, National Board of Directors, National Assoc for the Advancement of Colored People
Houston, TX

Jay L. Silver
Past Executive Director, ICC
Board Member, Texas Gulf Coast Chapter of Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Sugar Land, Texas

Armin D. Weinberg, PhD
Co-Founder and Past Co Chair ICC
Clinical Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Adjunct Professor, Rice University
Faculty Affiliate, TAMHSC School of Public Health
Houston, TX

James E. Williams, MS
Vice President, ICCC, Past Chair, ICC
Chair, PA Prostate Cancer Coalition
Camp Hill, PA